Return to Headlines

Thirty-nine DCS Students Named Commended Scholars

Thirty-nine high school students from Dublin City Schools have been named Commended Scholars by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. This high number of commended scholars comes just days after the District recognized our 40 National Merit Scholar Semifinalists.

Our Commended Scholars are: Kanav Azad, Philippe Bertrand, Mahima Bhattacharya, Thanish Boggula, Lahari Donepudi, Mananya Ellendula, Benjamin Fox, Evan Houpt, Zachary J. Beckman, Ruthvik Jennigiri, Divija Kandru, Kundan Karnati, Sarah Kim, Lauren Ludwig, Bhuvanesh Nanabolu, Anna O'Connell, Leah Parparov, Praneel Patel, Aidan Peebles, Diya Raj, Keertana Reddimasu, Amelia Reedy, Evan Seeto, Harsh Sharma, Don Soldini, Sai Sri Suhas Chappidi, Michael Stolmeier, Austin Toczynski, Elliot Toland, Brady Van Bibber, Amie Wang, Zhiyang Wang, Jeffrey Wilden, Olivia Wood, Jeffrey Xie, Abrar Yousuf, Nicholas Zahniser, Eric Zhang, and Liyanjin Zhu.

In late September, more than two-thirds (about 34,000) of the approximately 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT® received Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Commended students are named on the basis of a nationally applied Selection Index score that may vary from year to year and is typically below the level required for participants to be named Semifinalists in their respective states. Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit® Scholarships, some of these students do become candidates for Special Scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

We congratulate these students on their outstanding academic achievement.