Return to Headlines

50 DCS High School Students named Commended Scholars

Fifty high school students from Dublin City Schools have been named Commended Scholars by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. This high number of commended scholars comes just days after the District recognized our 26 National Merit Scholar Semifinalists.

Our Commended Scholars are: Hatem Aldhahi, Olivia Allen, Avery J. Benjamin, John Benton, Lindsey Blagg, Joshua Buss, Connor T. Caviness, Kerrie Cheng, Sachi Chhibber, Ryan Covitz, Allison Fish, Joseph Gallo, Isam Hanif, Alyssa Hartman, Dylan Jian, Ethan Jiang, Roman Joseph, Prabhat Kalle, Vibhav Kaluvala, Karan Konarigowda, Lasya Kopuri, Jenna Kopyar, Shraddha L. Krishnan, Megan Li, Andy Lu, Tanvi Menkurkar, Shravan S. Natarajan, Parv Nema, Gavin Ni, Caroline Niekamp, Soaiba Nuzhat, Joonho Oh, Prisha Patel, Ashutosh Paudel, Michelle Qiu, Mason Rice, Audrey Ryu, Arooj Sohail, Ray Soldini, Meghana Sugumar, Jeevaa Sundaraam, Ajit Ubhi, Shreya Vadlamani, Aayush Vishwanath, Albert Wang, Samuel Willard, Alana Wilson, Lucy Wohlers, Luke Zhang and Jason Zhou.

In late September, more than two-thirds (about 34,000) of the approximately 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT® received Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Commended Students are named on the basis of a nationally applied Selection Index score that may vary from year to year and is typically below the level required for participants to be named Semifinalists in their respective states. Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit® Scholarships, some of these students do become candidates for Special Scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

We congratulate these students for their outstanding academic achievement.