Return to Headlines

Dublin City Schools has 26 National Merit Semifinalists

Twenty-six (26) Dublin City Schools students have been named National Merit Scholar Semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

These students are: Alexis Colombo, Alyssa Guan, Alexander Hughes, Saanya Jaiswal, Christina Jin, Annie Johnson, Maxwell Li, Elizabeth Zhou, Ian Ao, Rohan Athavale, Ashika Batchu, Vania Gandhi, Akaash Ganga, Alana Gorukanti, Dustin He, Daniel Hu, Netra Joshi, Sumedha Kethini, Shubham Mital, Nitya Nekkanti, Shivi Pallerla, Dhruti Shah, Jason Wang, Katherine Xu, Tiffany Yang and Anya Zhang.

“These 26 students have shown great dedication to earn this prestigious honor that exemplifies their academic abilities,” Superintendent Dr. John Marschhausen said. “I want to congratulate these students, their families and the staff that all helped to make this happen.”

Of the 1.5 million entrants, only about 50,000 with the highest PSAT/NMSQT® Selection Index scores (calculated by doubling the sum of the Reading, Writing and Language, and Math Test scores) qualify for recognition in the National Merit® Scholarship Program. In September, these high scorers are notified through their schools that they have qualified as either a Commended Scholar or Semifinalist. In early September, about 16,000 students, or approximately one-third of the 50,000 high scorers, are notified that they have qualified as Semifinalists. 

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must advance to Finalist standing in the competition by meeting high academic standards and all other requirements explained in the materials provided to each Semifinalist. In February, Semifinalists are notified by mail that they have advanced to Finalist standing.