Return to Headlines

40 Dublin City Schools students named National Merit Semifinalists

Forty Dublin City Schools students have been named National Merit Scholar Semifinalists, marking the 6th straight year the District has had the most Semifinalists in Ohio.

They are: Nithin Anand, Jordan Bahnub, Dinesh Bojja, Noah Clemens, Rachel Ding, Gary Ding, Suvan Dommeti, Isaac Frank, Avani Ghosh, Shivani Gogineni, Shritan Gunday, Robert Hudson, Jordan Jones, Mithra Kancheti, Emma Kim, Jessica Li, John Li, Michael Lin, David Lloyd, Gabriel Long, Rishikesh Makineni, Krutika Mishra, Naomi Mukka, Douglas Murphy, Yash Panicker, Jonathan Scardon, Ryan Seidensticker, Erica Shen, Akul Singh, Kylyn Smith, Diva Sony, Dylan Tan, David Tang, Sara Tulchinsky, Mihir Vador, Patrick Wang, Justin Wu, Dylan Yang, Emma Zhang and Brian Zhou.

In partnership with the City of Dublin, we are excited to honor these students and their parents at our next Board of Education meeting on Sept. 28 at Dublin City Council Chambers.

Today officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC®) announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $30 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 95 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and approximately half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 400 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

Steps in the 2022 Competition

High school juniors entered the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of Semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and a high school official must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT® or ACT® scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

From the approximately 16,000 Semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the Finalist level, and in February they will be notified of this designation. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from this group of Finalists. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.