Return to Headlines

47 named Commended Scholars

Forty-seven high school students from Dublin City Schools have been named Commended Scholars by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. This high number of commended scholars comes just days after the District learned it has the most National Merit Scholar Semifinalists (40), of any district in Ohio for the sixth consecutive year.

Our Commended Scholars are: Alyssa Asch, Kathryn Barto, Shyam Sai Bethina, William Blankemeyer, Steven Botos, Jonathan Carr, Victor Chen, Anya Chitekela, Ruo-Hua Chu, Cameron Elia, Cade Erickson, Tara Flynn, Elvin Fu, Poulami Ghosh, Gavin Hodge, Megha Joish, Avinash Karne, Tejas Karne, Surith Krishna, Joseph Kwon, Vignesh Lakshmanan, Meryl LaRue, Bryan Li. Frank Li, Catherine Ling, Kevin Liu, Siddarth Madhusudan, Gowrav Mannem, Andrew McBride, Sonia Mehta, Sonali Modak, Shreya Sree Morishetty, Sreenivas Nadella, Joseph Nadur, Charles Owens, Aayushi Patel, Sahana Rajesh, Kaylie Serna, Lauren Smith, Harshini S. Somisetty, Steven Speck, Georgia Steiger, Anurag Thokala, Varun Thotli, Gabriella Weber, Xavier Wisniewski, and Josephine Yoho.

 In late September, more than two-thirds (about 34,000) of the approximately 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT® received Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Commended Students are named on the basis of a nationally applied Selection Index score that may vary from year to year and is typically below the level required for participants to be named Semifinalists in their respective states. Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit® Scholarships, some of these students do become candidates for Special Scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

Three students were recognized by the College Board as College Board National African American Recognition Program Scholars. They are: Adam Amara, Ervin Abbeyquaye and Talara Wilson.