Dublin City Schools has most National Merit Scholar Semifinalists for 4th consecutive year

Thirty-five (35) Dublin City Schools students have been named National Merit Scholar Semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.
These students are: Kaled Abusaleh, Kunal Borde, Alexandre Brunet, Stanley Cao, Andrew Dorner, Benjamin Eichner, Jason Guo, Gauruv Gupta, Owen Hill, Helen Hu, Brittaney Jin, James Johnson, Benjamin Kim, Bo Sung Kim, Saisparsh Kustagishettar, Claire Li, Rachel Li, Lisha Nawani, Sruthi Parthasarathy, Hannah Qin, Sujan Rachuri, Sri Sathvik Rayala, Beckham Retzler, Matthew Sale, Raghav Samavedam, Joshua Smith, John Stolmeier, Yuna Takahashi, Lily Tang, Richard Tang, Susan Wu, David Xiong, Amy Xuan, Antony Yang, and Brianna Zeng

“These 35 students have earned a highly valued national recognition, a powerful indicator of college readiness,” said Superintendent Dr. Todd Hoadley. “Congratulations to them, their families, and their teachers on this prestigious designation.”
This year marks the fourth consecutive year, Dublin City Schools has had the most National Merit Semifinalists in Ohio.
Of the 1.5 million entrants, only about 50,000 with the highest PSAT/NMSQT® Selection Index scores (calculated by doubling the sum of the Reading, Writing and Language, and Math Test scores) qualify for recognition in the National Merit® Scholarship Program. In September, these high scorers are notified through their schools that they have qualified as either a Commended Student or Semifinalist. In early September, about 16,000 students, or approximately one-third of the 50,000 high scorers, are notified that they have qualified as Semifinalists. 
To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must advance to Finalist standing in the competition by meeting high academic standards and all other requirements explained in the materials provided to each Semifinalist.
In February, Semifinalists are notified by mail at their home addresses that they have advanced to Finalist standing. High school principals are notified and provided with a certificate to present to each Finalist.

Print This Article
View text-based website