Gift of Failure Community Book Talk

Dublin and Hilliard City Schools are partnering in several community book talks centered around the book The Gift of Failure: How the Best Parents Learn to Let Go So Their Child Can Succeed. These book talks are offered as part of "Be Well 2: A Parent University Event by Dublin and Hilliard City Schools". To learn more about Be Well, click here!
 
The Gift of Failure cover 
In the tradition of Paul Tough’s How Children Succeed and Wendy Mogel’s The Blessing of a Skinned Knee, this groundbreaking manifesto focuses on the critical school years when parents must learn to allow their children to experience the disappointment and frustration that occur from life’s inevitable problems so that they can grow up to be successful, resilient, and self-reliant adults.
 
Modern parenting is defined by an unprecedented level of overprotectiveness: parents who rush to school at the whim of a phone call to deliver forgotten assignments, who challenge teachers on report card disappointments, mastermind children’s friendships, and interfere on the playing field. As teacher and writer Jessica Lahey explains, even though these parents see themselves as being highly responsive to their children’s well being, they aren’t giving them the chance to experience failure—or the opportunity to learn to solve their own problems.
 
Overparenting has the potential to ruin a child’s confidence and undermine their education, Lahey reminds us. Teachers don’t just teach reading, writing, and arithmetic. They teach responsibility, organization, manners, restraint, and foresight—important life skills children carry with them long after they leave the classroom.
 
Providing a path toward solutions, Lahey lays out a blueprint with targeted advice for handling homework, report cards, social dynamics, and sports. Most importantly, she sets forth a plan to help parents learn to step back and embrace their children’s failures. Hard-hitting yet warm and wise, The Gift of Failure is essential reading for parents, educators, and psychologists nationwide who want to help children succeed.

To order the book through Amazon, visit: https://www.amazon.com/Gift-Failure-Parents-Children-Succeed/dp/0062299255

Book Talk Dates

Tuesday, January 7, 6:30 p.m.
Dublin - Emerald Campus, 5175 Emerald Parkway, Dublin 43017
Facilitators: Monica Campana, HCS & Tyler Wolfe, DCS
 
Thursday, January 16, 6:30 p.m.
Hilliard - The HUB, 3859 Main St., Hilliard 43026
Facilitators: Tracey Deagle, DCS & Vicky Clark, HCS

Saturday, January 18, 9:00 a.m.
Dublin - Glacier Ridge Elementary, 7175 Glacier Ridge Blvd., Dublin 43017
Facilitators: Cori Kindl, HCS & Pete Kurty, DCS

Tuesday, January 21, 6:30 p.m.
Hilliard - Tharp Sixth Grade School, 4681 Leap Rd., Hilliard 43026
Facilitators: Corrine Evans, DCS, Chad Schulte, HCS & Jessica Rardon, HCS
 
Wednesday, January 29, 6:30 p.m.
Dublin - Jerome High School, 8300 Hyland-Croy Rd., Dublin 43016
Facilitators: Joyce Brickley, HCS & Leanndra Yates, DCS 
 
Saturday, February 8, 9:00 a.m.
Hilliard - Public Library, 4500 Hickory Chase Way, Hilliard 43026
Facilitators: Paige Canale, HCS & Jennifer Schwanke, DCS 
 
On Feb. 29, residents of both communities will have the opportunity to discuss the book with Author Jessica Lahey. The event will take place on Feb. 29, 9 a.m. - 10 a.m. at the Hilliard Darby Performing Arts Center. 
View text-based website