International Baccalaureate (IB) Programme

About the International Baccalaureate (IB) Programme
The International Baccalaureate (IB) Programme is a course of study in which students have the opportunity to take classes that emphasize research skills, internationalism, critical thinking, the application of knowledge, intercultural understanding, and interdisciplinary learning.  The IB Programme underscores the importance of the development of a well-rounded student.

Students in the IB Diploma Programme Take Courses in Six Subject Groups Including:
Group 1.        Language A1 (English)
Group 2.        Second Language
Group 3.        Individuals and Societies (Social Studies)
Group 4.        Experimental Sciences
Group 5.        Mathematics
Group 6.        The Arts and Electives

IB Diploma students also complete unique components, which include a Theory of Knowledge course, an extended essay, and CAS – Creativity, Action, and Service.

The Diploma Programme is offered during the last two years of high school (11th and 12th grade) and serves as a bridge to prepare students as they leave high school and enter higher education.

IB Diploma students take one course from each of the subject groups and complete the other unique components of the IB Programme.

Students are REQUIRED to complete all of the prescribed IB assessments for the IB courses they are taking. 
To learn more about the IB program, click here: 

IB Fast Facts & FAQs

What are the benefits of participating in the IB Diploma Programme?

The primary purpose of the IB Programme is to provide students with an internationally recognized and well-rounded education that will prepare them for college and beyond.  Through participation in the IB Diploma Programme, students learn to become thoughtful citizens, who are able to articulate their thoughts, and manage their time and responsibilities well.  The IB Diploma Programme is also a well-respected programme by colleges and universities around the world. 

What are higher level and standard level IB courses?

There are two levels of IB courses – higher level (HL) and standard level (SL).  To earn an IB Diploma, students are required to take at least three courses (not more than four courses) at the higher level and the remainder of the courses at the standard level.  

The higher-level courses have a required number of class hours, which corresponds to two school years in length.  Higher-level courses have a prescribed curriculum, which includes learning information at an in-depth level.  The standard level courses are required to be at least one school year in length, but many extend across two years.  While students in standard level courses learn information at an in-depth level, the prescribed curriculum tends to cover less material than the higher level courses.

Can a student take IB courses without participating in the Diploma Programme?

While the full Diploma Programme is the foundation of the International Baccalaureate Programme, the International Baccalaureate Organization allows students to take individual IB courses without participating in the full Diploma Programme.  Individual IB courses are known as certificate courses because students are able to earn a certificate in these courses. 

Do students receive an IB score awarded by the International Baccalaureate Organization for their IB courses?

Students have prescribed IB assessments for each IB course and earn a score from the International Baccalaureate Organization based on their performance on these required IB assessments.  Students earn a score from 1 – 7 in each IB course.  To be awarded an International Baccalaureate Diploma students must earn a minimum cumulative score in their courses, and must have required scores in accordance with the scoring rules set by the International Baccalaureate Organization. 

High School Course Listings

View text-based website